Skip to content
- When it comes to breads and baked goods, it is the gluten in the flour that keeps the dough or batter together and allows us to pull and stretch dough. So, if you are baking gluten-free, you need an added ingredient to do the job of the gluten. Guar (gwar) gum is used in gluten-free cooking to bind, thicken, and emulsify gluten-free ingredients. Guar gum, also called guaran, comes from the seed of a bean-like (legume) plant, sometimes referred to as the Indian tree. The husks are removed from the guar seeds and the seeds are milled into a powder.